Gratuitous Space Battles – Initial Impressions

December 2, 2009

I finally played the demo of Gratuitous Space Battles that I had downloaded a few weeks ago.
In this game you deploy fleets of ships to attack other fleets of ships.  That is basically it.

The strategy in the game involves which ships you deploy, how you arrange them, what orders you give them, and even what types of ships you built with what weapons, armor, and other stuff.

The game looks good and I really wanted to like it but I found it very hard to use.  The tutorial text was hard to read, the information given wasn’t sufficient, and the navigation was terrible.

At one point I thought I earned enough honor points to unlock new weapons and armor but then couldn’t figure out how to do it.  I don’t know if the demo version crippled this feature or not.

I think this game could be really good if it was easier to use.  Until then, I have uninstalled it and won’t give it any more of my time.

Grade – C+

Leave a Reply

