Smart Headquarters Defense – Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer

December 9, 2009

Stay away from the headquarters but stay in a position to shoot those capturing

Headquarters Defense Tip – Call of Duty MW2 Multiplayer

If you are playing the headquarters mode in Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer, you need to know how to defend it smartly without getting yourself killed right away.

You don’t want to stay right next to the headquarters or else you will get hit with frag grenades, flashbangs, grenade launchers and will be seen quickly by those trying to destroy.

Instead, you want to find a hiding place somewhere away from the HQ where you can still kill those trying to capture it and buy your team some more time and points.

The above picture is taken from the “Estate” level.  The HQ is out in the greenhouse.  I am on the top floor with a view of the HQ (circled in red).  Enemies usually come from the basement to the front left or the outside entrance front right.  There is an entrance behind me that I am vulnerable to attack from but I can’t easily defend 3 entrances by myself so I picked the most common ones.

From here, I was able to stay out of sight and take out 3 attackers before they found and killed me while I was reloading.

On every level there are places to hide and take out attackers as they try to capture the HQ.

Here is what to look for:

  • Stairways to hide on or under
  • Barrels, counters in stores or buildings, or other obstacles to hide behind
  • Levels above the HQ where you can see down on it
  • Rafters above the HQ
  • Outside locations where you have a clear shot at attackers going into the HQ

All of these kinds of locations help protect you from explosives and being seen and killed right away and will let you slow down your enemies trying to capture the HQ.

From here I can defend 2 entrances into the HQ

The pic above is from Favela MW2 Multiplayer level.  This adjacent building provides a great 2nd floor view so I can kill enemies trying to get into 2 entrances to get at our HQ.  I was able to rack up a few kills here before I ran out of ammo.

Leave a Reply

